KEIKO Tea | EN

A new life for your shattered favorites

Irregularities and the apparent imperfection characterize Japanese ceramics and thus clearly distinguish them from the otherwise so widespread endeavor to produce pieces that are as perfect as possible with smooth, flawless surfaces and even edges.

These irregularities are what give the ceramics their character in the first place - which is shaped by the signs of use over the years - for example, by the discoloration that occurs in the fine cracks in the glaze or in the porous clay when the tea seeps into it.

Kintsugi Karaffe

The blemish is not "hidden" but highlighted as part of the piece's history, adding to its character and beauty.Kintsugi is traditionally created in an often lengthy process of the gradual application and polishing of an urushi lacquer dusted with gold or silver pigments.

"The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong at the broken places."

Ernest Hemingway

In the pictures of the sake decanter (right), you can see some dark broken lines that still need to be re-polished and finished, as well as some finished gold broken lines.

The technique can be used to join pieces from 2 or more shards together (the vase pictured has 91 broken pieces!). Missing pieces can be completely replaced with the gold urushi putty, or matching sherds are inserted which often contrast intentionally with the original pottery by using different colors or materials such as glass.

Meanwhile, a simpler method of kintsugi repair is often performed, mixing ceramic glue with gold powder and sprinkling additional gold powder on the broken edge after the pieces have been joined while drying. This method also produces beautiful results, but doesn't quite achieve the finesse of the intricate artwork created by "real" Kintsugi repairs.

Your favorite piece has been broken and you would like to revive it through Kintsugi repair?

We are happy to let your ceramics shine in new splendor. For the repair with the traditional Kintsugi method we charge 12€ per cm of breakage, for the simple Kintsugi it's 6€ per cm of breakage (plus shipping). Please contact us for details!

Some examples of Kintsugi repairs by our production manager Sascha Conrad can be found in the picture gallery accompanying the blog post! The sake carafe is repaired with "real" Kintsugi, the other two pieces with "plain" Kintsugi.

Please bear in mind that the repair may take several weeks, as a few days of drying time are always necessary between the work steps. The more pieces, the more laborious and lengthy the process.

Tags: Accessories
Please enter these characters in the following text field.

The fields marked with * are required.

Nach oben

Ein neues Leben für alte Lieblingsstücke

Unregelmäßigkeiten und die scheinbare Unvollkommenheit kennzeichnen japanische Keramiken und grenzen sie damit deutlich ab gegenüber dem sonst so verbreiteten Bestreben möglichst perfekte Stücke mit glatten, makellosen Oberflächen und ebenen Rändern zu fertigen.

Diese Unregelmäßigkeiten verleihen den Keramiken erst ihren Charakter - der durch die Gebrauchsspuren über die Jahre geformt wird - beispielsweise durch die Verfärbungen, die in den feinen Rissen der Glasur oder im porösen Ton entstehen, wenn der Tee dort hinein sickert. 

Kintsugi Karaffe

Der Makel wird nicht "versteckt", sondern als Teil der Geschichte des Stücks hervorgehoben, der zum Charakter und der Schönheit des Stücks beiträgt.

Kintsugi wird traditionell in einem oft langwierigen Prozess aus dem schrittweisen Auftragen und Polieren von einem mit Gold- oder Silberpigmenten bestäubten Urushi-Lack erstellt.  

"The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong at the broken places." - Ernest Hemingway

Auf den Bildern der Sake-Karaffe (rechts) sieht man sowohl einige dunkle Bruchlinien, die noch neu poliert und bearbeitet werden müssen, als auch einige fertige goldene Bruchlinien.

Mit der Technik können Stücke aus 2 oder mehr Scherben zusammen gefügt werden (die abgebildete Vase besteht aus 91 Bruchstücken!). Fehlende Stücke können komplett durch die Gold-Urushi-Kittmasse ersetzt werden, oder es werden passende Scherben eingefügt die oft durch abweichende Farben oder Materialien wie Glas einen absichtlichen Kontrast zur Ursprungskeramik aufweisen.

Inzwischen wird häufig eine einfachere Methode der Kintsugi-Reparatur durchgeführt, wobei Keramik-Kleber mit Goldpulver vermischt wird und nach dem Zusammenfügen der Teile während der Trocknung weiteres Goldpulver auf die Bruchkante gestreut wird. Auch diese Methode führt zu schönen Ergebnissen, erreicht jedoch nicht ganz die Finesse der filigranen Kunstwerke die durch "echte" Kintsugi-Reparaturen entstehen.

Ihr Lieblingsstück ist zu Bruch gegangen und Sie möchten es durch Kintsugi-Reparatur wiederbeleben?

Wir freuen uns Ihre Keramiken in neuem Glanz erstrahlen zu lassen. Für die Reparatur mit der traditionellen Kintsugi Technik berechnen wir 12€ pro cm Bruchkante, für einfaches Kintsugi 6€ pro cm Bruchkante (zzgl. Versand). Kontaktieren Sie uns gern für Details! 

Einige beispiele von Kintsugi-Reparaturen durch unseren Produktionsleiter Sascha Conrad finden Sie in der Bildergalerie zum Blogbeitrag! Die Sake-Karaffe ist mit "echtem", die anderen beiden Stücke mit "einfachem" Kintsugi repariert.

Bitte bedenken Sie dabei, dass die Reparatur durchaus einige Wochen in Anspruch nehmen kann, da zwischen den Arbeitsschritten immer ein paar Tage Trocknungszeit nötig sind. Je mehr Bruchstücke, desto langwieriger der Prozess.

Zum Weiterlesen: Kintsugi: Wenn Zerbrochenem neues Leben eingehaucht wird (Japan Digest)

Tags: Zubehör
Bitte geben Sie die Zeichenfolge in das nachfolgende Textfeld ein.

Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Nach oben